The Galactic Adventure Club
 
HomePortalFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Similar topics
Latest topics
» Hi guys
by Sean1M Sun Oct 16, 2016 8:29 am

» -Three- Sentence Tale (REBOOT)
by Terwynd Wed Sep 21, 2016 8:08 am

» Music Appreciation (Forum Game)
by Terwynd Tue Aug 30, 2016 7:23 am

» my forum now
by Sean1M Thu Jun 30, 2016 3:17 pm

» Your very own art
by ReFrostE Fri Mar 25, 2016 2:58 am

» Game Night 'To-buy' List
by Terwynd Wed Mar 09, 2016 5:21 pm

» Sentain IC
by Potatrobot Thu Feb 25, 2016 5:14 pm

» MC realms
by camelfox Sun Jan 03, 2016 12:51 am

» Photoshop game
by Dark_Plague Mon Dec 14, 2015 2:29 am

» Tate's renders -- Now in college
by Potatrobot Wed Nov 18, 2015 7:24 am

» Warframe — Because Space Ninjas
by Delta Sun Oct 18, 2015 2:31 pm

» Random & Crazy Pictures
by Dark_Plague Tue Sep 15, 2015 4:12 am

» Stars Without Number OOC – Lifepath and Hacking Added
by Terwynd Sun Aug 09, 2015 4:02 am

» Hey guys...
by Talvox Wed Jul 15, 2015 2:38 am

» New Super Smash Bros. Game announced for teh Wii U and 3DS
by Potatrobot Thu Jul 09, 2015 1:29 pm

» What are your favorite youtube videos?
by Terwynd Tue Jun 30, 2015 9:32 pm

» General Chat thread
by Terwynd Thu Jun 25, 2015 1:10 am

» Steam Summer Sale 2015 [over]
by Terwynd Sun Jun 14, 2015 1:25 am

» ???????????????????????? ???????||INCOMING||??????? ???????||MESSAGE||???????? ??????????????????????????
by Terwynd Wed Apr 08, 2015 6:35 am

Top posting users this week

Share | 
 

 TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
3D
Admin


Posts : 879
Upvotes: : 8
Join date : 2010-07-01
Location : New Mexico, USA

PostSubject: TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...   Fri Jun 24, 2011 8:55 pm

TF2 is out for FREE from Steam!

Anyhow, I know a couple of you play TF2, and now that TF2 just came out for free, I thought it'd be nice to have a thread to co-ordinate matches, give out Gametags (Or whatever they're called) and such. Feel free to post some of your favorite moments, or some tips for n00bs (Such as myself). tupps!

Cheers,
- 3D


Last edited by 3DBlenderRender on Sun Jun 26, 2011 8:48 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://wordpress.com/posts/agcodes.wordpress.com
Gelatino95
Silver Spice
Silver Spice


Posts : 3501
Upvotes: : 9
Join date : 2010-06-27
Age : 20
Location : Dinosaur Planet

PostSubject: Re: TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...   Fri Jun 24, 2011 9:17 pm

I've never played this game, but I've heard a lot about it. Can somebody explain the game to me? My brother has a Steam account, so I may be able to play, but I want to know more about it first.

By the way, I just lost the game.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.spore.com/view/myspore/Gelatino95
Hutch
Admin


Posts : 934
Upvotes: : 23
Join date : 2010-06-12
Age : 21
Location : USA. Stereotype me.

PostSubject: Re: TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...   Fri Jun 24, 2011 9:19 pm

Rule 1#: Don't play scout until you get VERY good, I've been playing scout for about 7 months, and still not perfect at the class
Rule #2: Don't beg for weapons or hats. It pisses regulars off
Rule #3: Find a "home server" where you like the people and admins there and stay at that server, it makes your playing experience 100% better.
Rule #4: Do not, EVER taunt somebody (Pressing g when you kill somebody) Not only does it make you look like a jerk, depending on the server, it can get you banned.

Pro tip: The newest update was recently released, make sure you read the tf2 blog to look at all the shiny new weapons, and look on the offical wiki for everything else. It's better to go in with knowledge of the game

Pro, pro tip: There is no "Dominate class" It all depends on your play style, but I'd start off as soldier or heavy. And then branch off to other classes, see which one you like best. And remember, be good at MULTIPLE classes, you never know when you might have to swap out classes to help your team.

And remember, you folks will have free accounts, which means you can't trade, send gifts, find anything but weapons, and only have a storage capacity of about 50 items. If you want a premium account, buy something at the mann. co store.

Useful links:
Team fortress 2 blog: http://www.teamfortress.com/
Official team fortress 2 wiki: http://wiki.teamfortress.com/wiki/Main_Page
The wiki is currently 503'd, but once it's back up, I'll give you articles to ready. Mainly the item drop system, you need to know about that.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Delta
Admin


Posts : 2280
Upvotes: : 82
Join date : 2010-10-11

PostSubject: Re: TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...   Fri Jun 24, 2011 9:37 pm

I noticed that it was made free recently -- decided it would be as good a time as any to re-install it. XD Only been at it a few hours, so still a newb, but it's pretty fun. Joyful Playing almost solely as the soldier at the moment.

_________________

ಠ_ಠ
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.spore.com/view/myspore/Delta317
Dark_Plague
Bronze Spice
Bronze Spice


Posts : 1627
Upvotes: : 4
Join date : 2010-08-27
Age : 17
Location : Canada, Somewhere freezing my ass

PostSubject: Re: TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...   Fri Jun 24, 2011 10:22 pm

I found out that TF2 was free on Steam. Thought I'd get it and try it out.
Still downloading. T_T
Back to top Go down
View user profile
infidel775
Pink Spice
Pink Spice


Posts : 262
Upvotes: : 1
Join date : 2011-05-20
Age : 25
Location : A bunker on Casparan, heavily defended by Kas guards.

PostSubject: Re: TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...   Fri Jun 24, 2011 10:55 pm

Hutch wrote:

Rule #4: Do not, EVER taunt somebody (Pressing g when you kill somebody) Not only does it make you look like a jerk, depending on the server, it can get you banned.

If that's the case, why do they have achievements for doing JUST THAT?

Anyone who bans you for using a taunt is playing the game too seriously.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.youtube.com/user/infidel775
Hutch
Admin


Posts : 934
Upvotes: : 23
Join date : 2010-06-12
Age : 21
Location : USA. Stereotype me.

PostSubject: Re: TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...   Fri Jun 24, 2011 11:06 pm

infidel775 wrote:
Hutch wrote:

Rule #4: Do not, EVER taunt somebody (Pressing g when you kill somebody) Not only does it make you look like a jerk, depending on the server, it can get you banned.

If that's the case, why do they have achievements for doing JUST THAT?

Anyone who bans you for using a taunt is playing the game too seriously.

Yes and no, If you know the person and you enjoy screwing around, then taunting might be okay. But just taunting some random person after you kill them is just plain rude, as a result. The admins might kick or ban you.

Even with the achievements, taunting is normally discouraged in most servers.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Dark_Plague
Bronze Spice
Bronze Spice


Posts : 1627
Upvotes: : 4
Join date : 2010-08-27
Age : 17
Location : Canada, Somewhere freezing my ass

PostSubject: Re: TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...   Sat Jun 25, 2011 12:23 am

I actually found this guide that can help.
http://www.pcgamer.com/2011/06/24/the-noobs-guide-to-team-fortress-2-part-one/?ns_campaign=article-feed&ns_mchannel=ref&ns_source=steam&ns_linkname=0&ns_fee=0
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Hutch
Admin


Posts : 934
Upvotes: : 23
Join date : 2010-06-12
Age : 21
Location : USA. Stereotype me.

PostSubject: Re: TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...   Sat Jun 25, 2011 12:58 am

Just a tip, don't play medic as a beginner class. It might be easy, but since you don't know where to go, or what to do you'll end up pissing off your team a lot more than actually helping them. As I said, try solly first. Your simply expected to be the front line assault, and if you can do that you won't get yelled at nearly as much as you would if you were being a bad medic.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Kitty
Silver Spice
Silver Spice


Posts : 3148
Upvotes: : 58
Join date : 2010-09-11
Age : 20
Location : Waterfall, Underground

PostSubject: Re: TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...   Sat Jun 25, 2011 5:19 am

I was wondering when this board was going to be made.

Anywho, I'd have to disagree with you Hutch about not playing as medic as the first class. When I first played the game on my friend's Xbox, I COULD NOT aim with the controls, so he insisted that I play as a Medic. I was a bad medic, but at least I could follow people around and learn directions.

Anywho, I'm a Scout person. (If I can't play scout I usually play Pyro)
I cannot play as any of the slower classes (eg Soldier, Heavy)

EDIT: Oh look, Meet the Medic managed to hit a million views in less than a day. That's fast. o_o
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Dark_Plague
Bronze Spice
Bronze Spice


Posts : 1627
Upvotes: : 4
Join date : 2010-08-27
Age : 17
Location : Canada, Somewhere freezing my ass

PostSubject: Re: TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...   Sat Jun 25, 2011 5:27 am

Finally! It finished Downloading!
I'm currently playing the tutorials.....:P
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Hutch
Admin


Posts : 934
Upvotes: : 23
Join date : 2010-06-12
Age : 21
Location : USA. Stereotype me.

PostSubject: Re: TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...   Sat Jun 25, 2011 5:31 am

The tuts are useless, let me tell you that.

I wouldn't recommend using offline practice either, the bots can be SERIOUS jerks and you won't be learning anything. The only way you're going to get better is if you suck up your fears of getting owned (Trust me, you will) and find a good, friendly server with decent players to help you out and destroy you so you can learn. It's a vicious cycle, I know. But you'll have to live with it.

And no, none of you are getting my steam name. I'm saying that now, I want my privacy in a different community that I'm playing with.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Kitty
Silver Spice
Silver Spice


Posts : 3148
Upvotes: : 58
Join date : 2010-09-11
Age : 20
Location : Waterfall, Underground

PostSubject: Re: TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...   Sat Jun 25, 2011 5:40 am

You DO need the tuts to learn the controls, though. Walking out into a server without knowing how to play is a bad idea.

Also, it is a good idea to have one server or so that you can always play on.
And not get kicked out of for filling up server space.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Drew
Admin


Posts : 1494
Upvotes: : 20
Join date : 2010-12-11
Age : 20
Location : Probably inside you

PostSubject: Re: TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...   Sat Jun 25, 2011 6:11 am

Now that this is free, everyone will be doing it.

Guys will be doing it with girls, girls will be doing it with other girls.

Groups.

ECT.

Jokes aside, in every chat I have been in today this game has been mentioned. I might as well spend a million hours DL'ing it then.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Hutch
Admin


Posts : 934
Upvotes: : 23
Join date : 2010-06-12
Age : 21
Location : USA. Stereotype me.

PostSubject: Re: TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...   Sat Jun 25, 2011 4:11 pm

All right guys, listen to what I'm going to say, and take my advice to heart. It just might keep you alive a little longer.

Currently, the heavy is in possession of HORRIBLY overpowered weapon, the Tomislav. It essentially removes the heavy's larger weaknesses, his spinup time. Which on the other miniguns he has, gives him a pretty good delay between deploying and actually firing, the spinup also makes a pretty loud noise. The Tomislav, however. Spins up almost instantly and is COMPLETELY silent, and makes a very distinct noise when fired.

Here's what it looks like:





If you see ANYTHING that looks like this, and a heavy is using it. Run away, as fast as you can. Unless you're in an offensive push and need to stay, or the heavy is on your team, you won't be skilled enough to cap him. Especially if your a scout, who relies on the spinup time to reliably kill a heavy. And you will NOT win in a one on one fight against him.

Hopefully this will be patched (And the soda poppers ramp up damage humph) sometime in the future, but until then. Watch out for it. I can't find any sound files for it, but trust me. Once you get shot at by it, you'll know what it sounds like.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Ferrety
Green Spice
Green Spice


Posts : 469
Upvotes: : 1
Join date : 2010-08-27

PostSubject: Re: TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...   Sat Jun 25, 2011 4:38 pm

I may as well try this, seeing as it's free. Downloading way take a while, though...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Kitty
Silver Spice
Silver Spice


Posts : 3148
Upvotes: : 58
Join date : 2010-09-11
Age : 20
Location : Waterfall, Underground

PostSubject: Re: TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...   Sat Jun 25, 2011 4:43 pm

There HAS to be a weakness for it. There has to be.
I mean, the Gloves of Running Urgently give him a higher speed, but at the same time, drain his health.

EDIT: It has a -20% slower firing speed. That's not too bad.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
3D
Admin


Posts : 879
Upvotes: : 8
Join date : 2010-07-01
Location : New Mexico, USA

PostSubject: Re: TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...   Sat Jun 25, 2011 6:39 pm

Errors galore! I downloaded TF2 and haven't actually gotten to play yet, due to the passive amount of bugs. So, first thing, off the bat, it took full-screen, sideways, with sideways mouse (Reacting now as if the touch-pad were oriented that way, and parts of the screen cut off. After using the '-window' command in the launch options (could not reach the buttons necessary for switching to window in-game) I could boot it up the right way round. Sadly, though, the sides are cut off. This means I can't see maps, or health, anything I would expect.

I've changed the Screen resolution down and up, adjusted colors (Don't know why that would help...), searched for a bunch of hours for solutions, but still nothing. Oh, and in addition, when the game starts up, every 10 seconds, it freezes. The computer...the mouse doesn't even move for a short while. After the freeze (5 sec-2 sec) everything snaps to where it should have moved.

Anyhow, does anyone else have this problem?
Have you fixed it? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Edit: I rebooted (No brainer) so please don't suggest that...
Also, the colors for the training/target stage are quite psychedelic - are they supposed to be like that? They're really zany colors in some parts, and when I look at a section with a lot of these (bugs?) that's when it freezes. Due to these problems, I have not been able to move to the tracks on the very first training mission.

I'm not too fussy about Graphics in general, so if there are fixes for improving FPS by decreasing resolution that would be excellent.

- 3D
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://wordpress.com/posts/agcodes.wordpress.com
Hutch
Admin


Posts : 934
Upvotes: : 23
Join date : 2010-06-12
Age : 21
Location : USA. Stereotype me.

PostSubject: Re: TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...   Sat Jun 25, 2011 7:26 pm

3DBlenderRender wrote:
Errors galore! I downloaded TF2 and haven't actually gotten to play yet, due to the passive amount of bugs. So, first thing, off the bat, it took full-screen, sideways, with sideways mouse (Reacting now as if the touch-pad were oriented that way, and parts of the screen cut off. After using the '-window' command in the launch options (could not reach the buttons necessary for switching to window in-game) I could boot it up the right way round. Sadly, though, the sides are cut off. This means I can't see maps, or health, anything I would expect.

I've changed the Screen resolution down and up, adjusted colors (Don't know why that would help...), searched for a bunch of hours for solutions, but still nothing. Oh, and in addition, when the game starts up, every 10 seconds, it freezes. The computer...the mouse doesn't even move for a short while. After the freeze (5 sec-2 sec) everything snaps to where it should have moved.

Anyhow, does anyone else have this problem?
Have you fixed it? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Edit: I rebooted (No brainer) so please don't suggest that...
Also, the colors for the training/target stage are quite psychedelic - are they supposed to be like that? They're really zany colors in some parts, and when I look at a section with a lot of these (bugs?) that's when it freezes. Due to these problems, I have not been able to move to the tracks on the very first training mission.

I might be your computer, check the minimum settings for the game and look at your system specs, chances are your graphics card might be bad. Have you also been playing on any servers? If so, it might be a latency issue with freezing, ONLY try servers that have a latency of 100 or lower.


_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
3D
Admin


Posts : 879
Upvotes: : 8
Join date : 2010-07-01
Location : New Mexico, USA

PostSubject: Re: TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...   Sat Jun 25, 2011 7:49 pm

Checked everything. I passed my fair margin to run TF2, too. Systemrequirmentslab checked out OK, too. I pass the minimum req, but the recommended section was not as ideal. The Ghz level has to be really high for this game to work perfectly, apparently. Secondly, it's recommended to use a DirectX 9 compatible video card (NVIDIA GeForce 7900+ / ATI Radeon X1900+), however I have a Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family. Otherwise, it tested out fine. My 3D, Video ram, and Pixel shader are all good. I have plenty ram, a great sound card, tons of memory, and the proper OS.

- 3D

Edit: Uninstalled.
Edit: Apparently while minimum is passed for TF2, minimum for GA isn't...and GA works, whilst TF2 does not. Going to try something else. Not that anybody cares. Wistle
Back to top Go down
View user profile https://wordpress.com/posts/agcodes.wordpress.com
Hutch
Admin


Posts : 934
Upvotes: : 23
Join date : 2010-06-12
Age : 21
Location : USA. Stereotype me.

PostSubject: Re: TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...   Sun Jun 26, 2011 1:27 am

Here's yet another pro tip for you all today:

HATS. Don't matter, if you find a hat (Which you won't, unless you buy something in the mann co store) good for you, but until you get a good amount of weapons for all of your favorite classes, do NOT attempt at crafting any hats, they're aesthetics. Nothing else (Unless they're the original polycount hats, which go towards a set bonus) You'll be better off getting weapons that can radically change how the class plays.

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Terwynd
Purple spice
Purple spice


Posts : 1093
Upvotes: : 18
Join date : 2010-08-28
Age : 20
Location : In front of a computer desk somewhere.

PostSubject: Re: TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...   Sun Jun 26, 2011 5:28 am

I've downloaded it, and I prefer (in order)

Pyro
Spy
Scout
Heavy
Medic

I despise being an Engie. (I seem to get tons of kills for it though... strange.)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Kitty
Silver Spice
Silver Spice


Posts : 3148
Upvotes: : 58
Join date : 2010-09-11
Age : 20
Location : Waterfall, Underground

PostSubject: Re: TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...   Sun Jun 26, 2011 5:36 am

Once when I was playing as an Engie at Gravelpit, I put a sentry at point C and it kiled a bunch of guys. Then I killed a scout who apparently was my nemisis, and I got a Ghastly Gibus.
FREE HAT YAAAY
But then I got backstabbed and sapped by a Spy and we lost. :C
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Dark_Plague
Bronze Spice
Bronze Spice


Posts : 1627
Upvotes: : 4
Join date : 2010-08-27
Age : 17
Location : Canada, Somewhere freezing my ass

PostSubject: Re: TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...   Sun Jun 26, 2011 5:51 am

I seem to be an awesome Demoman.
Well, I guess from now on, I'm the explosives Expert. :D
Oh and btw, if anybody wants to add me on Steam (ya know, if you want to play games and such), my name is Dark_Plague
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Pintoz
Moderator
Moderator


Posts : 2485
Upvotes: : 4
Join date : 2010-06-19
Age : 19
Location : Everywhere, nowhere.

PostSubject: Re: TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...   Sun Jun 26, 2011 12:05 pm

Downloading game at this moment.

EDIT: OMGZ IT'S SO FUN

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...   Today at 5:25 am

Back to top Go down
 
TF2 Official Thread - I'm the only one it doesn't work for...
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 2Go to page : 1, 2  Next
 Similar topics
-
» Team Project Revolution Official Thread!
» Mobile phones: The official thread
» Destiny l Official Thread
» Eternal Dream Official "LOL Pictures" Thread
» The Official Ben 10 Thread

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
GAC :: GAC :: Locked Archive-
Jump to: